1908 – Renowned poet, satirist, essayist and freedom fighter, ‘Rashtrakavi’ Ramdhari Singh ‘Dinkar’ was born. Dinkar was known for his poetry with a strong patriotic flavour. His first poem was published in a newspaper called ‘Chhatra Sahodar’ in 1924. He composed ten poems based on the peasant satyagraha led by Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel. The compilation was published under the title ‘Vijay-Sandesh’. He also penned poems under the pen-name ‘Amitabh’. He wrote satires targetting inequalities and exploitation in the society. In 1959 he was conferred the Sahitya Akademi Award for his prose ‘Sanskriti Ke Chaar Adhyaay'(1956) while his poetic work ‘Urvashi’ received the prestigious ‘Jnanpith Award’ in 1972. He was nominated to the Rajya Sabha in 1952 while he was honoured with the Padma Bhushan in 1959.

Asima Chatterjee

Asima Chatterjee

1917 – Noted Chemist Asima Chatterjee was born. She was known for her work in the fields of phytomedicine and organic chemistry. In 1944, the University of Calcutta conferred Doctorate of Science on her. She was the first woman to be conferred D.Sc by an Indian University. Most of her works were based on vinca alkaloids and development of anti-malarial and anti-epileptic drugs. She was the first lady scientist to be elected as the President of the Indian Science Congress Association in 1975. In 1961, she was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award while in 1975 she was conferred the Padma Bhushan. She was a nominated to the Rajya Sabha as a member from 1982 to 1990.

'Chaturdandi Panditaha' Emani Sankara Sastry

‘Chaturdandi Panditaha’ Emani Sankara Sastry

1922 – Eminent Veena player ‘Chaturdandi Panditaha’ Emani Sankara Sastry was born. His father who was a well-known vainika and a sastragna groomed him which reflected in his performances at various concerts. He performed throughout India and also participated in music festivals. His duets with maestros like Pandit Ravi Shankar, Pandit Gopal Krishan and Ustad Abdul Halim Jaffar Khan mesmerised audiences. He was also a music director known for his novel techniques and composed for hit films like ‘Mangla’, ‘Sansar’, ‘Bahut Din Huye’, ‘Vindhyarani’, ‘Mr.Sampat’ and ‘Nishan’. He created a number melodious bhajans and kirtanas and was the ‘Asthaan Vidwan’ of the Tirumala Tirupati Devasthanams. He received the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award in 1973 while he was conferred the Padma Shri in 1974.

1992 – The First Law Secretary and Second Chief Election Commissioner of Independent India, Kalyan Vaidyanathan Kuttur Sundaram or K.V.K. Sundaram passed away. After the completing his studies he joined the Indian Civil Services in 1925 and was posted in the Central Provinces in 1927. He played a crucial role in reorganization of states along linguistic lines post-independence. In 1948 he became the Law Secretary while in 1958 he became India’s second Chief Election Commissioner after Sukumar Sen. He was also the Chairman of the Fifth Law Commission of India from 1968 to 1971. He also helped Asom and Nagaland settle their boundary disputes. Sundaram was Sanskrit scholar and translated the works of Kalidasa into English. He was conferred the Padma Vibhushan in 1968.