1920 – Considered as the ‘Father of experimental fluid dynamics research in India’, eminent aerospace engineer Satish Dhawan was born. Dr. Dhawan was known for his research in the field of boundary layers including relaminarization of separated boundary layer flows, trisonic flows and three-dimensional boundary layers. His work on boundary layers was presented in the book ‘Boundary Layer Theory’ by Hermann Schlichting. He also pioneered research in remote sensing and satellite communications that led to INSAT (telecommunications satellite), PSLV (Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle) and IRS (the Indian Remote Sensing Satellite). Under his commandership the Indian Space programme scaled greater heights. He was associated with and also served as the Director (1962-81) of the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore where he setup India’s first supersonic wind tunnel. He was appointed Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) in 1972 (till 1995). He served as the President of the Indian Academy of Sciences from 1977 to 1979. He was also the Chairman of National Aerospace Laboratories, Bangalore from 1984 till 1993 while he was Chairman of Indian Space Commission from 1972 to 2002. He was honoured with the Indira Gandhi Award for National Integration in 1999 and was conferred the Padma Vibhushan in 1981 .

Satish Dhawan

Satish Dhawan

1925 – Member of the Gold Medal winning Field Hockey team at the 1952 Helsinki Olympics and the 1956 Melbourne Olympics , Govind Perumal was born.

Feroz khan

Feroz Khan

1939 – Regarded as the ‘Clint Eastwood’ of the East and known for his cowboy flamboyance, noted film actor, director and producer, Feroz Khan was born. He made his debut as a second lead with the 1960 release ‘Didi’ for which he won the Filmfare Award for Best Debut but it was ‘Oonche Log'(1965) that was his first major success. He continued to appear in supporting roles and featured in hits like ‘Arzoo'(1965), ‘Upasana'(1967), ‘Aadmi Aur Insaan'(1969) that gave him his second Filmfare Award (Best Supporting Actor), ‘Mela'(1971) and ‘Nagin'(1976). He turned producer-director in 1971 with ‘Apradh’ being his first venture. He also produced, directed and appeared in the lead in ‘Dharmatma’ (1975). It was the first Indian picture to be filmed in Afghanistan. He also remembered for churning out box-office hits like ‘Janbaaz’ (1986), ‘Dayavan’ (1988), and ‘Yalgaar’ (1992). In recognition of his contribution to the film industry he received the Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award in 2001.