1946 – The Interim Government of India headed by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was formed from the newly elected Constituent Assembly after the Indian National Congress emerged victorious with majority in 8 out of 11 provinces. The Muslim League also had conquered seats that were allotted to the Muslim electorate.

V S Khandekar

V S Khandekar

1976 – Popular Marathi novelist, essayist and playwright Vishnu Sakharam Khandekar passed away. A Teacher by profession, Khandekar penned 6 plays, 16 novels and 100 essays. His first novel ‘Hrudayachi Haak’ was published in 1930. It was ‘Yayati’ (1959) that won him the prestigious ‘Sahitya Akademi Award’ (1960) and the ‘Jnanpith Award’ (1974). In 1968, Government of India honoured V S Khandekar with the Padma Bhushan.

1988 – Right Arm paceman Ishant ‘Lambu’ Sharma was born. Sharma made his debut in tests against Bangladesh in May 2007 while he first represented India in ODIs in June 2007 against South Africa. So far he has claimed 133 wickets in tests and 64 wickets in ODIs. He’s the fifth youngest bowler to join the 100 Test wickets club.

Ishant Sharma

Ishant Sharma

Sharma was a part of India’s tour down under in 2008 where he exploited conducive conditions to the maximum and regularly succeeded against the Australian batsmen especially skipper Ricky Ponting who was labeled as Ishant’s Bunny by the media. He was also the most expensive bowler at $ 9,50,000 in the inaugral season of the Indian Premier League and played for the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Ishant had also starred in India’s thrilling one wicket victory over the Aussies at Mohali in 2010. Together with the now retired VVS Laxman, Sharma put up an 81-run stand that helped India home safely while chasing a target of 205.

The Lanky pacer represents Delhi in the domestic circuit.

2009 – The Bell 430 Helicopter carrying Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh Y S Rajsekhara Reddy lost contact as it went missing into the woods of Nallamala forest. The wreckage was later found on the Rudrakonda Hill and all aboard were declared dead. Popularly referred to as YSR, he was the most popular chief minister of Andhra Pradesh. He was elected to the Lok Sabha four times from Kadappa constituency and five times to the Andhra Pradesh Assembly from Pulivendula constituency as he never lost any election that he contested.


Y S Rajasekhara Reddy

He served as the chief minister of twice in 2004 and in 2009. He was well known for various welfare schemes that he undertook during his tenure as chief minister such as providing electricity to farmers for free, introduction of health insurance cover upto Rs. 2,00,000 to people below poverty line, provision of loans at an interest rate of 3% with a view to encourage businesses by women from the rural parts, the Jala Yagnam project etc. The BBC hailed him as the Champion of Welfare Schemes.

On July 8, 2010, YSR’s Lok Sabha constituency Kadappa was renamed as YSR district in his honour.