1896 – Abhay Charanaravinda Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada founder of the popular ‘Hare Krishna Movement’ or the International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON), was born. In 1922 he met his spiritual teacher Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Saraswati Goswami, the founder of 64 Gaudiya Maths or Vedic Institutes who convinced him to devote his life to teaching Vedic knowledge. In 1965 he travelled to the United States and founded the International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON) in July 1966. The ‘Bhaktas’ (or devotees) connected with this movement follow a disciplined line of Gaudiya Bhagavata Vaishnavas. They devote their lives towards pleasing Lord Krishna. Today ISKCON has over 400 centres across the globe.

1916 – Dr. Annie Besant founded the Home Rule League in Madras (now Chennai).

1924 – One of the best defenders that India ever produced, former football Captain Sailen Manna was born. Manna first started in the 2nd division Kolkata football league before signing for Mohun Bagan, the club that he represented for 19 years until retirement. He represented India in the 1948 London Olympics. In 1951, he captained the side that won the Gold in the first ever Asian Games held in New Delhi. Under his captaincy the team also won 4 quadrangular tournaments between 1952 and 1956. In 1953, the English Football Association named Manna as one of the 10 Best Captains of the World. In 2000, the All India Football Federation declared him as the ‘Footballer of the Millenium’ and was awarded the ‘Mohun Bagan Ratna’ in 2001. In 1971, the Government of India honoured him with the Padma Shri.

1930 – Renowned Architect, Planner and Theoretician Charles Correa was born. He is seen as a pioneer in the world of contemporary architecture. He designed the Mahatma Gandhi Memorial Museum at Sabarmati Ashram, Ahmedabad, the Jawahar Kala Kendra in Jaipur, Rajasthan, the National Crafts Museum in New Delhi etc. He was awarded the Padma Shri in 1972 and the Padma Vibhushan in 2006 for his contribution.

Purno Agitok Sangma (P A Sangma)

1947 – Former Meghalaya Chief Minister and Lok Sabha Speaker Purno Agitok Sangma was born. Sangma was elected to the Lok Sabha for eight terms. Except for the 9th Lok Sabha he was a part of the 6th, 7th, 8th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th and the 14th Lok Sabha from Tura constituency. He held various positions in the cabinet between 1980 and 1988 before he became the Chief Minister of Meghalaya. He also held independent charges as Union Minister of State for Coal(1991-93) and Labour (1993-95). In 1995 he was the Union Cabinet Minister of Information and Broadcasting before he went on to become the Lok Sabha speaker in 1996. In 1999 along with Sharad Pawar and Tariq Anwar, Sangma founded the Nationalist Congress Party. However due to differences he left NCP and joined the Trinamool Congress. In 2005 he resigned as a Lok Sabha member of TMC and was re-elected to the house as an NCP candidate. In 2012, Sangma contested for the post of President of Republic of India which he lost to Pranab Mukherjee.

1956 – With the merger of 245 private insurance companies and provident societies the Life Insurance Corporation of India was formed. In 1955 investigations revealed insurance frauds by private insurance companies. Hence in August 1956 the Parliament of India passed the Life Insurance of India Act which paved way for the creation of LIC. Also the Industrial Policy Resolution of 1956 nationalized life insurance business. What started with 300 offices in India has 25000 offices today servicing over 350 million policies. LIC is one of India’s most trusted service brands.