1888 – Tamil poet, Venkatarama Ramalingam Pillai was born. V. Ramalingam Pillaii was an independence fighter and also known for his poems on independence. He wrote hundreds of poems with patriotic fervor, also participated in Salt Satyagraha against British government in 1930 and went to jail for one year.

1910 – Indian-American astrophysicist, Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar was born. Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar is known for his work with William A. Fowler, and their key discoveries that led to the currently accepted theory on the later evolutionary stages of massive stars. The ‘Chandrasekhar limit’ is named after him. In 1983 he was awarded with the Nobel Prize in physics.

Pandurang Shastri,

1920 – Pandurang Vaijnath Shastri Athavale was born. Pandurang Shastri, popularly known as Dada-ji, was an Indian philosopher, spiritual leader, social reformer and also a Hinduism reformist. He founded the Swadhyay Movement and the Swadhyay Parivar organization in 1954. Shastri is also remembered for his discourses or “pravachans” on Srimad Bhagawad Gita and Upanishads.


1929 – Indian social activist, Nirmala Deshpande was born. Nirmala Deshpande practiced Gandhian Principles throughout her life. She devoted her life to promotion of communal harmony and service to women, tribal people, and the dispossessed in India. And was awarded Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award of India in 2006.


1959 – Ajay Singh Deol, Popularly known as Sunny Deol was born. Sunny Deol is an Indian film actor, producer and director. Often referred to as the “Action King of Bollywood”. Deol is remembered for his outstanding role in  Border (1997) and Gadar: Ek Prem Katha (2001).  Gadar: Ek Prem Katha is the second-highest grossing movie of Indian film history, if inflation is taken into account and also most watched Bollywood movie of modern era in theaters.