1909 -Bharat Ratna Aruna Asaf Ali was born. In 1942 when the British Government arrested major leaders of the Congress Working Committee after the Quit India Resolution was passed at Bombay, Aruna Asaf Ali presided over the remaining session and unfurled the INC flag. She received the Padma Vibhushan in 1992 and was conferred upon with the Bharat Ratna in 1997.

Dhanraj Pillay

1968 – Former Captain of the Hockey team,Dhanraj Pillay was born. He captained the side to victory in Asian Games (1998 and 2002) and Asia Cup (2003). Pillay was bestowed with the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award in 1999 and the Padma Shri in 2000.

1984 – Popular Film Actress Katrina Kaif was born.