1886 – National Poet Maithili Sharan Gupt,one of the pioneers of modern Hindi poetry and dramatist, was born. His poems especially from ‘Bharat Bharati’ were full of patriotism and popular among freedom fighters. He is major works include Panchavati,Siddharaj,Saket,Yashodhara,Vishvarajya etc. He was one members of the first batch nominated to the Rajya Sabha.

Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha

1948 – The Atomic Energy Commission of India came into existence. Dr. Homi Jehangir Bhabha was the first chairman of this commission.

1956 – Former India Cricketer Balwinder Singh Sandhu was born. A Right arm quick,Sandhu managed to put 22 runs on the board with Syed Kirmani for the last wicket in the final of the Cricket World Cup 1983 against West Indies and claimed two wickets including the prized one of opener Gordon Greenidge.

1984 – Star footballer Sunil Chhetri was born. Chhetri has scored 38 goals in his 58 appearances on the international stage.He scored a hat-trick in the final of the 2008 AFC Challenge Cup against Tajikistan. He was AIFF Player of the Year in 2007. Chhetri is now playing in the Liga de Honra for Sporting Clube de Portugal.

1996 – Tennis Ace Leander Paes beat Fernando Meligeni of Brazil to win the Bronze Medal in Men’s singles at the Summer Olympics in Atlanta becoming the second Indian to win an individual medal in Olympics after great wrestler Khashaba Jadhav first won a bronze at Helsinki in 1952.