The finest literary works (fiction) of 2016 have been announced by the Man Booker Prize committee today. Selected by the panel of judges – Dr. Amanda Foreman (Chair), Jon Day, Abdulrazak Gurnah, David Harsent & Olivia Williams – the longlist was carved from a total 155 submissions.

Here are the books that made the cut, the Man Booker ‘Dozen’ of thirteen titles-

Author (Nationality)                                                Title (imprint)

Paul Beatty (US)                                                        The Sellout (Oneworld)

J.M. Coetzee (South African-Australian)            The Schooldays of Jesus (Harvill Secker)

A.L. Kennedy (UK)                                                   Serious Sweet (Jonathan Cape)

Deborah Levy (UK)                                                  Hot Milk (Hamish Hamilton)

Graeme Macrae Burnet (UK)                                His Bloody Project (Contraband)

Ian McGuire (UK)                                                   The North Water (Scribner UK)

David Means (US)                                                   Hystopia (Faber & Faber)

Wyl Menmuir (UK)                                                 The Many (Salt)

Ottessa Moshfegh (US)                                          Eileen (Jonathan Cape)

Virginia Reeves (US)                                              Work Like Any Other (Scribner UK)

Elizabeth Strout (US)                                             My Name Is Lucy Barton (Viking)

David Szalay (Canada-UK)                                   All That Man Is (Jonathan Cape)

Madeleine Thien (Canada)                                  Do Not Say We Have Nothing (Granta Books)

The shortlist with the final competing six titles shall be announced September 13th 2016 at a press conference to be held at the London office of Man Group, the prize’s sponsor. The shortlisted authors win £2,500 each along with a specially bound edition of their book.

The 2016 Man Booker Prize winner shall be announced shortly after on 25th October, where he/she shall be awarded an additional £50,000.

via:  Man Booker Prize