After IPL it’s now time for IBL! The first edition of the much awaited Indian Badminton League (IBL) starts tomorrow. The tournament will begin in New Delhi while the finals will be held in Mumbai on August 31. Six teams will participate in the league featuring top shuttlers from domestic and international circuit.

Indian Badminton League

In all ninety matches will be played across six cities that the six franchises represent. Of the six teams- Awadhe Warriors, Banga Beat, Hyderabad Hotshots, Krrish Delhi Smashers, Mumbai Masters and Pune Pistons four will advance into the semi-finals and two will battle it out to clinch the title. The clashes will comprise of five matches- two men’s singles, a women’s singles, a men’s doubles and a mixed doubles. Three games will make a match with the first two worth 21-points while the third being an 11-point game.

The excitement surrounding the tournament is tremendous as top players from India and around the world will take to the court for their franchises. Mumbai Masters have the numero unos from both the men’s and women’s category in their team- Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia and Tine Baun of Denmark. However, the likes of Saina Nehwal (Hyderabad Hotshots), P V Sindhu (Awadhe Warriors), P Kashyap (Banga Beats) will make sure it won’t be easy for them. Then there’s Delhi Smashers who have Jwala Gutta and World No.2 mixed doubles pair of Boon Heong Tan and Kien Kiat Koo from Malaysia on their side. Pune Pistons boasts of names like Ashwini Ponappa, Juliane Schenk of Germany (World No.2) and Nguyen Tien Minh of Vietnam (World No.7).

Tune in to ESPN and Star Sports 2 to catch million dollar league live.

Indian Badminton League Schedule

Watch this TV commercial for IBL: